Searchmap  eu Maps of Africa countries Maps of Asia countries Maps of Europe countries Maps of North America countries Maps of South America countries Maps of Oceania countries

"Humankind has not woven the web of life.

We are but one thread within it.

Whatever we do to the web, we do to ourselves.

All things are bound together.

All things connect..."


North America

list of countries with names capitals and curent flags description

Antigua and Barbuda - St. John's

The flag of Antigua and Barbuda was once formally adopted on February 27, 1967.The sun represents the dawning of a new generation, the red signifies the power of the people, blue is hope and the black represents its African ancestry. The V form is mentioned to characterize victory and the total aggregate of yellow, blue and white represents the sun, sand and sea of this Caribbean island nation.

Bahamas - Nassau

The flag of the Bahamas was once formally adopted on July 10, 1973.The black shade represents the power and will energy of the folks, yellow the sandy seashores, and the aquamarine blue symbolizes the Caribbean Sea.

Barbados - Bridgetown

The flag of Barbados used to be formally adopted on November 30, 1966.The blue colour represents the sea, and gold symbolizes the golden sands of the island. The damaged trident situated represents the damage from its colonial earlier.

Belize - Belmopan

The flag of Belize was once formally adopted on September 21, 1981. The blue on the flag is the party colour of the PUP, whereas the red stripes have been added to recognize the colour of the opposition party. The centered coat of arm features 50 leaves, which is symbolizing the 12 months the PUP (People's United Party) got here into power.

Dominica - Roseau

The flag of Dominica used to be formally adopted on November three, 1978. The yellow represents the unique inhabitants, black the fertile soil, and white signifies the pure water. The centered stars characterize the ten island parishes. The Sisserou Parrot is indigenous to the island.

Mexico - Mexico City

The flag of Mexico was once formally adopted on November 2, 1821. The basic design is taken from the French Tricolor flag and the red, white and green are the colours of the nationwide liberation army of Mexico. The coat of hands within the white band is the badge of Mexico Metropolis, the country's capital. Its major characteristic is an eagle, and it's stated that an Aztec legend instructed them to construct their new city on the precise spot where they noticed an eagle sitting on a cactus, consuming a snake.

Cuba - Havana

The flag of Cuba used to be formally adopted on May 20, 1902.The general design is modeled after the U.S. flag. The red triangle is from the Masonic image for equality. La Estrella Solitaria, or the white Lone Star, is established on the red triangle.

Greenland - Nuuk

The flag of Greenland used to be officially adopted in 1985. It was once designed by using a local artist and features the Danish colours. The white is symbolic of the ice and snow that covers many of the island, and the red is symbolic of the sun.

Guatemala - Guatemala-City

The flag of Guatemala used to be formally adopted on August 17, 1871. The blue and white are the unique colours utilized by the United Provinces of Central America. The coat of arm used to be adopted in 1968 and lines the quetzal bird, a logo of liberty, perched on the Statement of Independence

Honduras - Tegucigalpa

The flag of Honduras used to be formally adopted on February sixteen, 1866. The blue and white and the 5 stars characterize the United Provinces of Central America, after they won their independence from Spain.

El Salvador - San Salvador

The flag of El Salvador used to be formally adopted on May 17, 1912. The blue and white are the unique colours used by the United Provinces of Central America after they won their independence from Spain in 1823. The founded emblem is surrounded by way of the 5 flags of the these United Provinces.

Nicaragua - Managua

The flag of Nicaragua was once formally adopted on September four, 1908. The blue and white are the unique colours used by the United Provinces of Central America. The Nicaragua coat of arm is founded on the white panel. The 5 volcanoes inside signify the 5 unique states of Central America.

Panama - Panama City

The flag of Panama used to be formally adopted on November three, 1903. The flag was modeled after the United States flag, on the other hand, the coloured stars are mentioned to signify the country's conservative (red) , liberal (blue) parties and white symbolizes peace.

United States of America - Washington, D.C.

The flag of The us includes thirteen alternating horizontal stripes of equal width - seven are red and 6 are white. The top and bottom stripes on the American flag are red. Within the top left corner of the flag there's a darkish blue rectangle which has 50 white, 5-point stars on it. The stars are organized in 9 horizontal rows.The thirteen stripes symbolize the thirteen original colonies of the U. S.: Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina and Virginia. The 50 stars characterize the individual states that make up the nation.

Canada - Ottawa

The flag of Canada used to be formally adopted on February 15, 1965. The Canadian Red Ensign, bearing the Union Jack and the shield of the royal hands of Canada, used to be lowered and then, on the stroke of noon, the new maple leaf flag used to be raised. The crowd sang the nationwide anthem O Canada, adopted through the royal anthem, God Save the Queen.The next phrases, spoken on that momentous day through the Honourable Maurice Bourget, Speaker of the Senate, introduced further symbolic meaning to the flag: "The flag is the symbol of the nation's unity, for it, beyond any doubt, represents all the citizens of Canada without distinction of race, language, belief or opinion." The stylish red maple leaf has been the nationwide symbol of Canada for over one hundred fifty years. Red and white are the official colours of Canada, proclaimed through King George V in 1921.